Chris Weinke Wins the 2000 Waldenström Award

by Eric Ecklund-Johnson

November 22, 2000.

The first Waldenström Award went to Minneapolis native and Covenanter, Marcus Harris, the all-time NCAA Division I record-holder for career receiving yardage. This year, against all odds, the trophy goes to another Twin Cities native—Chris Weinke of Florida State University. After leading the FSU Seminoles to the national title last year, it appears that he will again quarterback his team in the championship game. If that argument fails to sway the reader, the 33 touchdown passes he has thrown should be enough.

On a personal note, endorsing Weinke while living in Gainesville, Florida (home of FSU’s arch rival, the Uni-versity of Florida Gators) would appear to be a dangerous move. However, I take comfort in the observation that there do not seem to be very many Pietisten subscribers in the immediate area.

It is worth noting that Damien Hoffman from Starbuck, Minnesota set a Division II receiving record this season at the University of Minnesota-Morris. This means that Minnesotans have recently held receiving records in all three divisions: Marcus Harris, I; Damien Hoffman, II; and Scott Hvistendahl of Augsburg, III. Too bad Weinke didn’t throw to these gentlemen all in Minnesota Maroon and Gold.