Troy Smith, Ohio State Quarterback, Chosen for 2006 Waldenström Award

by Eric Ecklund-Johnson

We received a number of worthy nominations for the Waldenström Award: Matt Spaeth, the Minnesota Gopher who won the Mackey Award for the best Tight-End, James Laurinaitis, Ohio State linebacker and winner of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy for best defensive player, and Phil Porta, Bethel’s outstanding All-American running back.

Worthiest is OSU QB, Troy Smith, from Cleveland. Dr. Eugene Sanders, CEO of Cleveland schools said to and of Troy: “You have stayed focused in the classroom, the football field, and in life.” Dr. Sanders proudly added “Out of Cleveland, Ohio, came greatness. Out of Cleveland, Ohio, came excellence.” We concur.